Research in Human Resource Management

ISSN: 1531-281X (print); 2638-0919 (online)

Call for Papers

Special Issue of Research in Human Resource Management on Leadership

Proposals Due: January 1, 2019

Leadership has been one of most important topics in Management, Organizational Behavior, and Industrial and Organizational Psychology for over a century. Although there are a number of definitions of leadership, some leading scholars have defined it as “the process of influencing the task objectives, strategies of a group or organization, and influencing people in the organization to implement the strategies and achieve the objectives” of the …group and organization [added] (Yukl, 2013, p. 149).

Leadership has been studied in many different ways, and conceptions of leadership have focused on leader traits, behavior, power and influence, situational factors, or a combination of these factors (e.g., trait theories, contingency theories, authentic, transformational, charismatic leadership, e-leadership, shared leadership, ethical leadership, emergent leadership, abusive leadership, gender and leadership, culture and leadership, etc.). Although there is considerable research on leadership in our field (Avolio, Walumbwa & Weber, 2009; Gardner et al., 2011; Graen & Uhl-Bien, 1995; Hoch, Bommer, Dulebohn, & Wu, 2016; Judge & Piccolo, 2004; Liden & Maslyn, 1998; Yukl, 2013), we believe that additional theory and research is needed to advance our understanding of the topic. Therefore, the primary purposes of this special issue are to

(a) Consider the state of theory and research on leadership,

(b) Expand existing theories of leadership or offer an integrative model of leadership,

(c) Provide a thorough review of the literature on one area of leadership,

(d) Foster additional research on the topic.

Thus, we welcome manuscripts on any leadership-related topic, but all articles must expand existing theory and research on leadership, and foster additional research on the topic.

Submission of Manuscripts:

1. Authors are asked to send a short (2 page) proposal on the topic for their potential paper to Dr. James Dulebohn, Co-Editor of RHRM. Email: Dulebohn@msu.edu. Please copy Dr. Dianna Stone (diannastone2015@gmail.com) on your email. Deadline for proposals: January 1, 2019.

2. Jim Dulebohn will provide feedback on the proposals, and will invite authors with the best proposals to submit manuscripts for the special issue.

3. All manuscripts are due no later than December 1, 2019. Please submit them to Editors, Dr. James Dulebohn (Dulebohn@msu.edu) and Dr. Dianna Stone (diannastone2015@gmail.com).

4. Please note that all manuscripts will be reviewed by one Editor and two subject matter experts or editorial board members. Their reviews will determine if the paper is accepted for publication. If authors are given an opportunity to revise their manuscripts, the revision will be due May 1, 2020. A list of editorial board members and the review process is noted on noted on the Research in HRM website.

Research in HRM is now a peer-review research series and publishes literature reviews, new theoretical models, and cutting issues on HRM and OB related topics. The editors have applied to include it in Cabells and SCIMAGO.

5. The final special issue will be published in 2020.

If you have questions about this issue or the submission process please contact Jim Dulebohn (Dulebohn@msu.edu or Dianna Stone (diannastone2015@gmail.com).

We hope that you will submit manuscripts for this important issue.

Series Mission Statement
Research in Human Resource Management is an annual series designed to advance theory, research, and practice in Human Resource Management (HRM), and the related fields of Organizational Behavior, Industrial and Organizational Psychology, and Research Methods. The overall goal of the series is to publish articles that (a) improve the effectiveness of HRM processes and practices, (b) improve HRM theory, (d) provide critical reviews of HRM theory and research, ( e) enhance the methods used in HRM research, and (e) increase the degree to which individuals have satisfying and fulfilling careers in organizations. Each volume contains articles that are consistent with these goals.

Articles in the series may focus on such specific topics as: Recruitment, Selection, Training, Performance Management, HR Strategy, eHRM, Compensation, Job Attitudes, Job Design, Motivation, Leadership, Groups/Teams, Stress, Employee-Employer Relations, and will consider one major topic per issue. Publication decisions are made based on the evaluations of two subject matter experts and the Action Editor.

Editorial Advisory Board
Herman Aguinis, George Washington University. Derek Avery, Wake Forest University. David Balkin, University of Colorado. Donna Blancero, Bentley University. John Boudreau, University of Southern California. James Breaugh, University of Missouri-Saint Louis. Julio Canedo, University of Houston-Downtown. Jeanette Cleveland, Colorado State University. Cary Cooper, University of Manchester. Petru Curşeu, Babeş-Bolyai University. Diana Deadrick, Old Dominion University. Rodger Griffeth, Ohio University. Julia Hoch, California State University-Northridge. Linda Isenhour, Eastern Michigan University. Richard Johnson, University at Albany. Gary Latham, University of Toronto. Robert Liden, University of Illinois at Chicago. Kim Lukaszewski, Wright State University. Kevin Murphy, University of Limerick. Stella Nkomo, University of Pretoria. Miguel Olivas-Lujan, Clarion University and Monterrey Tech. Mark Roehling, Michigan State University. Patrick Rosopa, Clemson University. Alan Saks, University of Toronto at Scarborough. Terri Scandura, University of Miami. Rene Schalk, Tilburg University. John Schaubroeck, Michigan State University. Lynn Shore, Colorado State University. Eugene Stone-Romero, University of New Mexico. Shay Tzafrir, University of Haifa. Sandra Wayne, University of Illinois at Chicago.

Peer Review Policy
This research series uses a double blind peer review process. All manuscripts are assessed by the editor to determine suitability for the research series. Manuscripts are then sent to two peer subject matter experts to assess their merits and scientific quality. The double blind review process means that the reviewers do not know the names of authors, and authors do not know the names of reviewers. review process. Publication decisions are based on evaluations by the subject matter experts and the Action Editor. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles.